top of page
  • Writer's pictureKanyaphak Eing

A week of the teaching practice

Updated: Sep 30, 2018

This week is the third week of to live in Makassar and the week for the first teaching practice of my life in SMP- Telkom school.


 

August 21,23 and 27 were to teaching practice


Summarize of teaching practice



1. Procedures of teaching


I talked with my mentor about the topic of the lesson and the classes I was going to teach that I was going to teach. Then I was designed to teach and do lesson plans. The class I taught was 8th and 9th grade. Content in science Related to biology.

  • Teaching procedure

My teaching begins with a little greetings and talks about the language between Indonesian and Thai. Create interest in the class and check each student's name. After that, I started teaching by setting the rules in the classroom. Before starting the tutorial, I started asking questions related to the content I was teaching. There are no topics to teach before asking questions. Check the availability of students. When students have completed the question. I talked to them briefly about teaching and telling stories to teach each time. Then, I opened a video about the content for the students to watch. The type of the video is about cartoon and very easy. Students can read and understand in English. When the video ends I asked again questions about the video for the students to answer. After that, I will start teaching. My teaching will briefly describe the content and will focus on group activities and games. Beginning with a description of the contents prepared in Power Point. Also, let students open their books along with their studies. To be more understanding. During my teaching, I have frequently asked for understanding. To prevent some students may be confused with the content. Ask students to discuss their suspicions about content during instruction. When teaching finished, I gave students divides a group to play games in class. Most of the games taught will be competitions in each group to encourage students' enthusiasm and collaboration within the group. The group assignments can be assigned to each student in the group. To test the students' understanding again. And to assess the knowledge of students after teaching. Some group work may include presentations in front of the classroom . Each group will send a group representative to present their work to the group. And at the end of the hour after the activity is finished. The students and I shared and closing the lessons together using the questions as a guideline to summarize and I have a worksheet for all students. This will be the work done in the classroom and the answer will be given to the students before the time runs out. In some cases, a work permit may become a home if the student fails to complete the required period of time.



2. Time management and organizing activities


I had a problem with my first hour teaching from the classroom that I needed to take. The equipment required to teach the crashes caused me to spend about 15 minutes managing the device in the classroom as a regular. Teaching in my first hour I found that I could not handle the time as well as I did because the lesson plan that I planned, it has many activities. And each student need to takes a lot of time for each activity. And only a few students in the class can understand English when I teach and know just word some word in English, so I have to spend more time than expected to teach in the lesson plan to explain to the students all the content that I teach. This made the teaching in first period is not as I planned. Then the mentor gave advice and guidance about the nature of the students in this school. Students are quite and serious about the details of each piece of work. I should give students more time to work. So, I took those problems and modified the lesson plans to match the characteristics of the students. It was found that teaching in the next period could handle the time, as followed by the plan.



3. Problem-solving

According to my English, it is not as fluently as like English teachers. It was a main problem if I teach in a long time in part of lecture. So, I solved the problem by thinking the game or activities for students to play and use the easy word to explain my content in the classroom. This is a better way to teach smoothly. And the second problem founded is have just few students in the class can understand me when i teach content in English .So, I solved the problem by use the easy word to explain and have a translator to help me when i teach and when my student confused and don't understand when i explain And the Third problem founded is students spent a lot of time on design-related tasks, such as mapping, flow chart, etc. So, I've solved the activities that needs a long time to be shorter. The activity which is less time spent on activities such as the use of answering games, games, pictures, competitions, etc. to save time learning. make students had fun, and enthusiasm.



4. Classroom management The class I taught was in 8th and 9th grade class. It is quite interesting and exciting when it comes to teaching. Students are intently studying and excited to learn. It's make classroom management as normal and happy. There may be some periods where students abandon their interest in studying. Or may be bored in the content that I taught. So I got problem solving by using classroom stimulation is trying to ask students always, ask them when I start feeling that they are bored in content. There are more games to add interest and fun. This makes students interested in learning more and more intends to study. Another important thing is that it is absolutely necessary. I need to design more interesting teaching activities. Try to improve the classroom activities, make it fun and get the most out of the students I expect the students to learn and gain the most effective knowledge.



 

LESSON PLAN


Name of School : SMP -TELKOM MAKASSAR

Subject : Science

Class : VIII

Topic : Human growth and development.

Allocation Time : 2 hours

Teacher’s name : Miss Kanyaphak Wilakhankham


­Terminal Objectives

  1. Students are  able to explain the understanding growth and development of human. (K)

  2. Students can conclude main idea and create mind mapping about stages growth of baby in pregnancy and human development. (P)

Behavioral Objectives

  1. Students will be attentive in their studies. (A)

Basic competencies and Indicators of Achievement

  1. Students can explain the understanding growth and development of human.

  2. Students can do exercises correctly by the end of the class

Media Learning

  1. Video presentation

  2. Power point

  3. Worksheets

  4. Material

Procedures (Meeting 1)

1.Opening (10 minutes)

  1. The teacher makes small talk with the class and checks who is absent.

  2. The teacher tell students that today they will be learning about growth and development of human.

  3. Let students see the video.- Play “The process of fertilization and the formation of human ” video.

  4. Materials - Power point


2. Core (50 minutes)


Presentation (10 Minutes)

  1. The teacher explains more stages growth of baby in pregnancy and human development.

Activities (20 Minutes)

  1. The teacher divides student into 5 groups.

  2. Have them play game named Plickers by showing correct barcodes in 15 exercises.

Exercise (20 Minutes)

  1. Teacher give the worksheets to individual student.

  2. The student doing worksheet . The teacher observe their performance.

Materials - www.Plickers.com, Power point, Tasks, Worksheet


3. Closing (10 minutes)

  1. The teacher solution the answers of the worksheet and gives 1 point for each correct item.

  2. Check how many points that the students can do.

Materials - Worksheet


 

LESSON PLAN2


Name of School : SMP -TELKOM MAKASSAR

Subject : Science

Class : VIII

Topic : Human motion system (Bone)

Allocation Time : 2 hours

Teacher’s name : Miss Kanyaphak Wilakhankham



­Terminal Objectives

  1. Students are  able to explain the understanding about bone of human motion system. (K)

  2. Students are able to identify types and the function of bone. (K)

  3. Students can write a identify types and the function of bone. (P)

Behavioral Objectives

  1. Students will be attentive in their studies. (A)

Basic competencies and Indicators of Achievement

  1. Students can explain the understanding about bone of human motion system.

  2. Students can do exercises correctly by the end of the class.

Media Learning

  1. Video presentation

  2. Power point

  3. Worksheets

  4. Materials


Procedures (Meeting 1)

1. Opening (10 minutes)

  1. The teacher makes small talk with the class and checks who is absent.

  2. The teacher uses the pictures to warm the class up for the new lesson by asking students what is on the pictures.

  • - What is the picture about?

  • Ans. muscle , Body, Bone

  • - What they know about the human motion system ?

  • Ans. The human motion system is about movement, posture and balance of the body.

  • -What is the function of bone?

  • Ans. Bones protect the body's internal organs.

Materials- Pictures, Power point


2. Core (50 minutes)


Presentation (20 Minutes)

  1. The teacher tell students that today they will be learning about bone of the human motion system.

  2. Let students see the video about bone of the human motion system.- Play “The Skeletal System” video.

  3. The teacher explains more about bone of the human motion system.

Activities (20 Minutes)

  1. The teacher divides student into 5 groups.

  2. Have them play game named Plickers by showing correct barcodes in 20 exercises

  3. Each group is given a piece of paper.

  4. Teacher assigns the group work to write the mind map for conclude the bone of human motion system about types and function ect., let students design their mind map.

  5. Members of the group cooperate and share idea.

  6. Each group chooses the representative to present their mind map in front of the class

Exercise (10 Minutes)

  1. Teacher give the worksheets to individual student.

  2. The student doing worksheet . The teacher observe their performance.


Materials -Video, www.Plickers.com, Power point, Materials


3. Closing (10 minutes)

  1. The teacher solution the answers of the worksheet and gives 1 point for each correct item.

  2. Check how many points that the students can do.

Materials -Worksheet



 

LESSON PLAN3


Name of School : SMP -TELKOM MAKASSAR

Subject : Science

Class : VIII

Topic : The female reproductive system

Allocation Time : 2 hours

Teacher’s name : Miss Kanyaphak Wilakhankham


­Terminal Objectives

  1. Students are  able to explain the understanding of the female reproductive system. (K)

  2. Students are able to identify organs and the function of the female reproductive system. (K)

  3. Students can write a concept organs and the function of the female reproductive system.(P)

Behavioral Objectives

  1. Students will be attentive in their studies. (A)

Basic competencies and Indicators of Achievement

  1. Students can explain the understanding of the female reproductive system.

  2. Students can do exercises correctly by the end of the class

Media Learning

  1. Video presentation

  2. Power point

  3. Worksheets

  4. Materials


Procedures (Meeting 1)

1. Opening (10 minutes)

  1. The teacher makes small talk with the class and checks who is absent.

  2. The teacher tell students that today they will be learning about the female reproductive system

  3. Let students see the video about the female reproductive system.- Play “Female Reproductive System” video.

Materials -Power point, video


2. Core (50 minutes)


Presentation (10 Minutes)

  1. The teacher explains more about the female reproductive system.

Activities (30 Minutes)

  1. The teacher divides student into 5 groups to play matching game and each group chooses the representative.

  2. Teacher open the picture on the power point so the representative of each group have to choose the correct word card of organs of the female reproductive system that matching with the picture and stick the correct word card on the power point. Have them play game named Plickers by showing correct barcodes in 10 exercises.

  3. (Teacher gives a reward for the one who gets the most point).

Exercise (10 Minutes)

  1. Teacher give the worksheets to individual student.

  2. The student doing worksheet . The teacher observe their performance.


Materials - www.Plickers.com, Power point, Worksheet


3. Closing (10 minutes)

  1. The teacher solution the answers of the worksheet and gives 1 point for each correct item.

  2. Check how many points that the students can do.

  3. The teacher tells students what topic will learn next time.

Materials -Worksheet


 

August 20, 2018

Sport day of SMP-Telkom school


Sport day

Today is a sport day. All students enjoy with the sport. There are a variety of sports such as football, batminton, etc. As well as the local sports. And today is the day that the new student president is elected. Subscriber from grade8 And today I did not observe the teaching. We enjoy the sport day and prepare a lesson plan.



football player



 

August 21, 2018

First time of my life to teaching practice.





Today is the day my heart beat more than ever. Because today is my first day of training. Today I had to teach all 4 classes to all of grade8 in the topic Human growth and development.


First time to teaching practice

The first room for my teaching was grade8, and in this hour I got evaluation from Ms.Widya.

My first teaching everything is going well. This time, I have more confidence, my teaching is going well and my teaching next time, I can teach with confidence and during my teaching. Ms.Widya and my mentor help. Be a translator for students when students do not understand the English content. In the class I taught, I had a little time management problem because I did not have enough time to play. The game I use to play game, the game is Pikles and then choose the right answer, which will be answered through the barcode. Students spend a lot of time in this process, so the time is not enough, so I need to revise and improve the lesson plan so that I have enough time to teach.

Today, I must thank Ms.Widya, Ms.Umi, and my Buddy who have helped me during my teaching.


 

August 22, 2018


Today is a holiday because it is a religious day of Islam. All schools and places in Makassar are closed for the ceremony. My schedule today free I stayed at the hotel.


 

August 23, 2018

Today is my second teaching.


Time to teach


Today I have taught all 4 grades, ie grade8B, grade8C, grade9A, grade9B

grade8C I have taught in Human motion (bone) and, grade9, I have taught in the female reproductive system




Matching game



Today is my second teaching day. I have more fluency and enjoy teaching in the classroom. Both students enjoy with me in teaching. I can manage this time better. During teaching, I got a Buddy translator for students when they did not understand English, and helped me from Ms.Umi to help explain the content to students when they did not understand.




Time to play game


 

August 24, 2018


Today my schedule is empty And I do not have the teaching, so today I've edited the defective lesson plan and went to observe the teachings practice of other friends.



 

August 25, 2018

Days of Cultural Exchange



Saturday

Today was the first Saturday of my school coming. Students are taught from Monday to Saturday. But Saturday will not be taught in the classroom. It will also be an activity such as playing sports or doing what students need in addition to studying in the classroom.

Today I have taught Thai culture to kindergarten students. It's Loy Krathong for Both students and parents are excited about what we're showing them.



Dance Loy Krathong


"Sarung dress'" of Indonesia

National Dress of Thailand

Today I enjoyed teaching them a lot of cultures, and I also played Batminton with the students. I saw the fun in all the students. They are very fond of Saturday's activities. Everyone comes to school from 6am to do their favorite activities.


football player

Student play favorite sports

49 views0 comments
bottom of page